ILT20 Announces Stellar Signings for Second Season

ILT20 Announces Stellar Signings for Second Season

ILT20 Announces Stellar Signings for Second Season: The International League T20 (ILT20) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league that is scheduled to be held in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) in January 2024. The tournament will feature six teams, namely Abu Dhabi Knight Riders, Dubai Capitals, Desert Vipers, Gulf Giants, MI Emirates, and Sharjah Warriors.

The ILT20 has already made some stellar signings for the upcoming season. David Warner, Mark Wood, and Ambati Rayudu are among the high-profile overseas players who will be playing in the tournament. Warner and Wood will be playing for the Dubai Capitals, while Rayudu will be representing MI Emirates.

The second season of the International League T20 (ILT20) is highly anticipated, with a list of high-profile overseas signings being announced. The tournament is scheduled to begin on January 13, 2024, and will run parallel to the second season of the SA20 league in South Africa.

Some of the standout signings include international cricket stars David Warner, Mark Wood, and Ambati Rayudu. Warner, who recently played in the Ashes 2023, is set to join forces with Joe Root at the Dubai Capitals.

The Capitals, known for their powerful lineup, have also signed Andrew Tye, Dasun Shanaka, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, and Sam Billings. However, Root and Wood’s participation in the upcoming season may be limited due to England’s five-Test tour of India, which begins on January 25.

The ILT20 is expected to be a thrilling cricketing spectacle, with some of the best players in the world set to compete. The tournament is sure to attract a large audience from around the world.

Ambati Rayudu joins MI Emirates for ILT20

Ambati Rayudu, the veteran Indian batter, has signed a deal with MI Emirates for the upcoming International League T20 (ILT20) tournament. Rayudu, who is currently playing in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL), is a valuable addition to the Emirates squad. He is a proven performer in T20 cricket, with over 5,000 runs in the format.

The Emirates have also signed a number of other top players, including Kusal Perera, Akeal Hosein, and Corey Anderson. This has made them one of the favorites to win the ILT20.

Meanwhile, Desert Vipers have also strengthened their squad with the signing of Shadab Khan. Khan is a world-class bowler and will be a key player for the Vipers. He will be joined by his Pakistan compatriots Shaheen Shah Afridi and Azam Khan.

Other teams have also made some big signings in the build-up to the ILT20. Sharjah Warriors have signed Martin Guptill and Maheesh Theekshana, while Abu Dhabi Knight Riders have secured the signatures of Joshua Little, Ravi Bopara, and David Willey. Defending champions Gulf Giants have added firepower to their roster with the acquisition of Mujeeb Ur Rahman.

Full squad list for ILT20 2024

Here are the squads of all teams so far for the International League T20 (ILT20) 2023:

Abu Dhabi Knight Riders

  • New signings: Michael Pepper, Josh Little, Sam Hain, Laurie Evans, David Willey, Brandon McMullen, Jake Lintott, and Ravi Bopara
  • Retentions: Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Joe Clarke, Charith Asalanka, Ali Khan, Matiullah Khan, Marchant de Lange, and Sabir Ali

Desert Vipers

  • New signings: Azam Khan, Shadab Khan, Bas de Leede, Michael Jones, Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Adam Hose
  • Retentions: Ali Naseer, Sheldon Cottrell, Tom Curran, Matheesha Pathirana, Wanindu Hasaranga, Sherfane Rutherford, Rohan Mustafa, Colin Munro, Gus Atkinson, Dinesh Chandimal, and Alex Hales

Dubai Capitals

  • New signings: David Warner, Roelof van der Merwe, Sam Billings, Mark Wood, Mohammad Mohsin, Andrew Tye, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dasun Shanaka, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Nuwan Thushara, Max Holden
  • Retentions: Joe Root, Rovman Powell, Dushmantha Chameera, Sikandar Raza, and Raja Akif

Gulf Giants

  • New signings: Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Karim Janat, Saurabh Netravalkar, Jordan Cox, Jamie Smith, and Dominic Drakes
  • Retentions: Chris Lynn, Carlos Brathwaite, Shimron Hetmyer, James Vince, Chris Jordan, Jamie Overton, Richard Gleeson, Gerhard Erasmus, Sanchit Sharma, Rehan Ahmed, and Aayan Afzal Khan

MI Emirates

  • New signings: Ambati Rayudu, Kusal Perera, Corey Anderson, Akeal Hosein, Odean Smith, Waqar Salamkheil, Nosthush Kenjige, and Vijayakanth Viyaskanth
  • Retentions: Kieron Pollard, Trent Boult, Nicholas Pooran, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Fletcher, Jordan Thompson, Daniel Mousley, Zahoor Khan, Muhammad Waseem, Will Smeed, Fazalhaq Farooqi, and McKenny Clarke

Sharjah Warriors

  • New signings: Johnson Charles, Lewis Gregory, Martin Guptill, Kusal Mendis, Daniel Sams, Sean Williams, James Fuller, Chris Sole, Qais Ahmed, Mark Watt, Maheesh Theekshana, and Dilshan Madhushanka
  • Retentions: Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Chris Woakes, Joe Denly, Junaid Siddique, Muhammad Jawadullah, and Mark Deya

The ILT20 is a new T20 tournament that will be held in the United Arab Emirates from 19 January to 11 February 2023. The tournament will feature six teams, with each team playing each other team twice in the group stage. The top four teams will then progress to the playoffs.

The ILT20 is set to be a high-quality tournament, with some of the biggest names in world cricket set to feature. The squads announced so far are packed with star players, and it is sure to be a thrilling competition.

For more details, you can join

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *