IPL Winners List From 2008 to 2021: IPL winner and runner up list of all seasons

IPL Winners List From 2008 to 2021

IPL winners list from 2008 to 2021: Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings have combined for nine titles in the 14 years of IPL.

After 73 matches, the 2022 Indian Premier League has reached its final match. Gujarat Titans will face Rajasthan Royals in the final match of the tournament. The match will be played at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

This is Gujarat’s first season in IPL and they have managed to reach the final. Hardik Pandya, who has a 100 percent record in IPL finals, would like to continue this trend. For Rajasthan, this is their first final after winning the championship in the inaugural season of 2008. The two teams have met twice this season and the Titans have won both encounters.

IPL winners list from 2008 to 2021

A total of 14 seasons have been played in the Indian Premier League so far. Rajasthan Royals won the inaugural season of the tournament and are still in search of their second. No one expected the Rajasthan Royals to win the 2008 season, but they defied all odds to turn their fortunes around.

Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings are the two most successful IPL teams with five and four titles respectively. It is interesting to note that either Chennai or Mumbai have been a part of 11 Indian Premier League finals.

Mumbai Indians won the title in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020, and out of five, they defeated Chennai in three of them. Rohit Sharma led the Mumbai Indians in all five campaigns and is the most successful captain in IPL history.

Chennai Super Kings won the title in 2010, 2011, 2018 and 2021. MS Dhoni has led Chennai Super Kings in all these campaigns. The Super Kings were banned from the IPL in 2016 and 2017, and made a brilliant comeback in the 2018 season by winning the championship.

Kolkata Knight Riders is the third most successful team with two titles in 2012 and 2014. Two franchises from Hyderabad, Deccan Chargers and Sunrisers Hyderabad won the titles in 2009 and 2016, respectively.

Among the old teams, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Punjab Kings and Delhi Capitals have yet to win an IPL title.

Here is the IPL winner and runner up list of all seasons

Year Winner Runners Up
2008 Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings
2009 Deccan Chargers Royal Challengers Bangalore
2010 Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians
2011 Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings
2013 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders Punjab Kings
2015 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad Royal Challengers Bangalore
2017 Mumbai Indians Rising Pune Supergiants
2018 Chennai Super Kings Sunrisers Hyderabad
2019 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings
2020 Mumbai Indians Delhi Capitals
2021 Chennai Super Kings Kolkata Knight Riders
Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *