Sri Lanka names Asia Cup 2023 squad Full list of players, injury updates

Sri Lanka names Asia Cup 2023 squad: Full list of players, injury updates

Sri Lanka Asia Cup 2023 squad: Sri Lanka have announced their squad for the 2023 Asia Cup, which they will co-host alongside Pakistan. The squad is led by Dasun Shanaka, with Kusal Mendis as his deputy.

The side have been hit by a number of injuries and positive COVID-19 tests, which is why they are the last of the six teams to name their squad. However, they have still managed to put together a strong team, with a good balance of batting and bowling.

Sri Lanka begin their campaign against Bangladesh on August 31st in Lahore. They will be hoping to go far in the tournament and challenge for the title.

Asia Cup injury update for Sri Lanka squad

Sri Lanka’s bowling resources have been severely depleted due to injuries to several key players. Dilshan Madushanka, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, and Wanindu Hasaranga are all out of contention for the upcoming World Cup, while Kusal Perera and Avishka Fernando are currently suffering from COVID-19.

Madushanka tore his oblique muscle during training, while Chameera has a pectoral injury. Both quicks are expected to be out for several weeks. Kumara, on the other hand, has suffered a side strain, a recurring injury that has hampered him in the past.

Binura Fernando and Pramod Madushan have been called up to the squad as last-minute replacements. The two players will need to be approved by the Ministry of Sports and Youth before they can join the team.

Perera has been selected in the squad but will only join the team when he is declared fit. Fernando is also expected to be available for selection in the coming days.

The injuries to these key players have left Sri Lanka’s bowling attack severely weakened. The team will need to rely on the likes of Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, and Praveen Jayawickrama to lead the attack in the World Cup.

Sri Lanka Asia Cup 2023 squad

Dasun Shanaka (c), Kusal Mendis (vc), Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Perera (when fit), Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Kasun Rajitha, Dushan Hemantha, Binura Fernando (subject to approval), Pramod Madushan (subject to approval).

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *