West Indies T20 Squad vs India, Nicholas Pooran, Shimron Hetmyer return

West Indies Squad T20 Series vs India

The provisional squad for the five-match T20I series against India starting Thursday 3 August at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Trinidad has been released by the West Indies Senior Men’s Cricket Selection Panel (CWI). The West Indies team includes 2023 Major League Cricket winner Nicholas Pooran and Shimron Hetmayer.

Each game will be attended by the entire preliminary squad of 15 people. Thereafter, a roster of 13 will be selected for each game, from which a starting XI will be selected.

Shay Hope, wicket/batsman, and Oceane Thomas, fast bowler also received reviews for this format. Hope played his last game in India in February 2022 and Thomas played his last game in Pakistan in December 2021.

Shimron Hetmayer, who was named to the ODI team, was also recalled for the T20 series against India. In August 2022, during the T20I home series against New Zealand, Hetmayer made his final appearance for the West Indies.

While Nicholas Pooran, who was unavailable for an ODI against India, courtesy of the MLC 2023, is returning to international duties in the shortest possible time. Last Sunday, the Seattle Killer Whales were completely wiped out by Nicholas Pooran, who led MI New York to a stunning 7-wicket victory in America’s Major League Cricket Championship game. Nicholas Pooran, the Mumbai Indians’ franchise captain, was in top form as his horrendous 137-55 innings in Dallas gave his team their first-ever MLC championship, helping them chase 184 players in just 16 overs.

Watch MLC 2023 Final Batting Nicholas Pooran 137*

West Indies Squad for T20 Series vs India

The Cricket West Indies (CWI) Senior Men’s Selection Board today announced the preliminary line-up for Black and White’s five-match Kuhl Stylish Fans T20I series against India starting Thursday, August 3 at the Brian Lahr Cricket Academy in Trinidad.

All 15 members of the temporary squad will travel to all matches. A team of 13 will then be formed for each match, from which the final XI will be selected.

Wicket-keeper/batsman Shai Hope and fast bowler Oceane Thomas earned a recall in this format. Thomas played his last match in this format in Pakistan in December 2021 and Hope played his last match in India in February 2022.

The first match will take place on Thursday at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy. On Sunday, August 6 and Tuesday, August 8, the teams will play their second and third matchs at the Guyana National Stadium.

The series finals will take place on Saturday, August 12 and Sunday, August 13 over the weekend at Broward County Stadium in Lauderhill, Florida. At 10:30 local time (9:30 Jamaican time) all matchs begin.

West Indies T20 SQUAD

  • Rovman Powell (Captain)
  • Kyle Mayers (Vice Captain)
  • Johnson Charles
  • Roston Chase
  • Shimron Hetmyer
  • Jason Holder
  • Shai Hope
  • Akeal Hosein
  • Alzarri Joseph
  • Brandon King
  • Obed McCoy
  • Nicholas Pooran
  • Romario Shepherd
  • Odean Smith
  • Oshane Thomas
Share Us and Earn
CricsGuru Google News Banner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *